Our offices

Geographic location and location of our offices

Cyangugu Diocese Peace and Justice Commission operates throughout the southwestern part of Rwanda, i.e. the current districts of Nyamasheke and Rusizi, and is limited to the west by the Bukavu Archdiocese and Uvira Diocese (DR Congo), and in the South by the Bubanza Diocese (Burundi). In the north there is Nyundo Diocese and in the east the Diocese of Gikongoro.

Cyangugu Diocese of has a living area of 1,125 km2, the remainder being covered by Nyungwe National Park and Lake Kivu. The total population is estimated at 712,346 and Catholic Christians at 286,160 (according to 2018 statistics). It currently has 19 parishes with 98 centrals, 58 branches and 2,022 basic ecclesial communities.